Is Maruchan Ramen Halal

Ingredients:Ramen noodle ingredients: enriched wheat flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), vegetable oil (contains one or more of the following: canola, cottonseed, palm) preserved by tbhq, contains less than 1% of: salt, soy sauce (water, wheat, soybeans, salt), potassium carbonate, sodium (mono, hexameta, and/or tripoly) phosphate, sodium carbonate, turmeric. soup base ingredients: monosodium glutamate, sugar, sea salt, contains less than 1% of: dehydrated soy sauce (wheat, soybeans, salt), hydrolyzed corn, wheat and soy protein, dehydrated vegetables (onion, garlic, chive), maltodextrin, caramel color, potassium chloride, spices, beef fat, yeast extract, lactose, natural flavor, disodium inosinate, disodium guanylate.

In Malaysia they don’t eat raw egg, so the soft-boiled tasted egg was a first for them, but thankfully they liked it. Many Malaysians like spicy foods, so most of them thought it would be better with more spice. If we added some extra spices, Japanese ramen could really catch on!

One day I discovered instant ramen made by Nisshin Foods that had the halal seal at My Outlets Global Halal Hub! Made by Nisshin at a factory in Singapore, this ramen had attained halal certification.

I made Halal Chicken chashu with an ajitama egg, green onions, and fried onions as toppings. I also replaced the mirin alcohol used in “kaeshi” sauce with apple juice. I wondered, will they like it?…

Some days later I had 20 Muslim Malaysians try it out. The youngest was a 10-year-old boy and the oldest was an 84-year-old woman. Even though Japanese food is famous worldwide, I was surprised to find that only one of these 20 people had ever eaten ramen before. Many Muslims want to try Japanese ramen but can’t. If there was more Halal ramen, more people around the world could enjoy Japanese food.

To accommodate the increasing number of Muslim tourists, as well as looking at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, Japan is becoming more conscious of halal. 60 percent of Malaysia’s population is Muslim, so of course, most products at supermarkets are halal, with only a small non-halal section with pork hidden in a corner. But, since Japanese cuisine uses a lot of alcohol and pork, nearly all Japanese restaurants in Johor Bahru are non-halal. There are plenty of Japanophiles in JB, but Muslims simply can’t eat the food at these restaurants.


Does Maruchan ramen contain pork?

Among all Maruchan products, only two items contain any pork ingredients. These are Ramen Noodle Soup Pork Flavor and the Taste of Asia Bowl Hearty Pork Tonkotsu Flavor.

What kind of ramen is halal?

Samyang Instant Ramen Noodles, Halal Certified, Spicy Stir-Fried Chicken Flavor 4.93 Ounce (Pack of 10) Amazon’s Choice highlights highly rated, well-priced products available to ship immediately.

Is ramen halal or Haram?

Shoyu and miso ramen are halal of course, and by replacing pork extract with chicken extract, you can imagine how the flavor wouldn’t change very much.

Related Posts