Samyang Spicy Noodles Vegan

Noodle (76.7%): Wheat Flour, Modified Tapioca Starch, Refined Palm Oil, Wheat Gluten, Salt, Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin), Acidity Regulator (Potassium Carbonate, Sodium Carbonate, Sodium Phosphate Dibasic, Citric Acid), Thickener (Guar Gum), Green Tea Flavor Oil, Soup (22.7%): Water, Artificial Chicken Flavor Powder (Dextrin, Sugar, Disodium 5-Ribonucleotide, Egg), Soy Sauce (Water, Soybean Salt, Disodium 5-Ribonucleotide), Sugar, Chilli Pepper Powder, Soybean Oil, Onion, Red Pepper Powder, Red Pepper Seed Oil, Yeast Powder, Garlic, Modified Potato Starch, Decolorized Chilli Extract, Paprika Extract, Black Pepper Powder, Curry Powder, Flake(0.6%): Roasted Sesame, Roasted Laver.

Contains: wheat, gluten, soy, sesame and egg. Allergens: For allergens please see ingredients in bold. Manufactured in a facility that also Manufactures milk, fish, crustacean, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts and soy beans. Caution! Hot water. Do not microwave.


Paldo is a Korean brand mainly known for its noodles. The brand has made its rounds on social media, with the rise in spicy noodle challenges and mukbangs. Fortunately, for plant-based eaters, the brand is surprisingly vegan-friendly, offering a range of delicious flavours, meaning no one misses out.

Bibim Men

Bibim Men are also another type of Korean noodles, although they are served cold rather than hot. The noodles are tossed in a typically spicy sauce. With Paldo’s noodles, in particular, the sauce is spicy and somewhat sweet, which can take some getting used to for those trying these for the first time. As advertised on the packet, the sauce is formulated with apple juice. However, don’t be fooled — these noodles pack a punch of heat.


Lecithin is a fatty substance used in baking. In the case of Samyang ramen, it is an ingredient used for making noodles.

Lecithin is a product derived either from eggs, soybeans, or sunflower seeds.

It is mainly used in the process of making instant noodles. It facilitates emulsion during the kneading process and ensures the ingredients are evenly mixed.

The stability of noodles during the dehydration process is also provided by lecithin. The crispiness, chewing feel, and elasticity of your instant noodles are aided mainly by lecithin.

Lecithin, in most cases, is derived from soybeans but can also be derived from egg yolks. Since there is no way of guaranteeing lecithin’s origin, the choice is ultimately yours.


Is Samyang hot chicken flavor ramen vegan?

Speaking of infamously spicy Korean noodles, Samyang is best known for its range of painfully hot noodles. The brand’s noodles are prominently featured in a variety of challenges. However, the regular noodles are, unfortunately, not vegan, as it contains actual chicken-derived flavouring.

Is Samyang artificial chicken flavor vegan?

The only type of Samyang ramen suitable for vegetarians or vegans is the 2x Spicy Hot Chicken flavor, as it has artificial rather than chicken-derived flavoring. However, even this ramen may contain some hidden ingredients that vegans would prefer to avoid.

Related Posts