Can You Use Rice Noodles For Lo Mein

Lo Mein: Frequently Asked Questions

These ones here (affiliate link) are perfect!

Because they contain wheat, traditional lo mein noodles are not gluten-free. To make this gluten-free, feel free to substitute your favorite GF spaghetti noodles or rice noodles!

It adds more depth and flavor to the dish – especially the dark soy sauce (affiliate link). Highly recommend using both if you can find them. If not, regular soy sauce (affiliate link) can always work.

Mirin is a type of rice wine. It adds a sweeter taste that creates a really nice contrast to the soy sauce’s saltiness.

Can You Use Rice Noodles For Lo Mein

How To Make This Lo Mein

We’re talking three easy steps for perfection:

  • Shake up your sauce.
  • Cook your noodles
  • Combine everything in a heated skillet or wok along with your extras (vegetables, protein, and green onions).

You can use almost any vegetables and/or protein.

Suggestions include bell peppers, onions, cabbage, broccoli, mushrooms, snow peas, and carrots. // Chicken, shrimp, eggs, beef (like flank steak), pork, tofu.

What Goes In This Easy Lo Mein Sauce

You need good soy sauce, and the two types of soy sauce trick is highly recommended. It’s more of a little thing that makes a big difference than a trick. You most likely have light or low-sodium soy sauce in your refrigerator, but let me tell you something—dark soy sauce has an incredible umami flavor that elevates this Lo Mein “sauce” situation to a whole new level.

I did not use soy sauce packets from leftover takeout because soy sauce quality matters in this case (it’s one of literally THREE ingredients that will make the sauce for your stir-fried noodles).

Add a small amount of sugar and a tiny dash of sesame oil to a jar and shake well. annnnd DONE.

Can You Use Rice Noodles For Lo Mein

Related Posts