What Noodles Are Gluten Free?

Though traditional pasta is typically made using wheat flour, there are plenty of gluten-free alternatives available.

The 6 Best Types of Gluten-Free Pasta and Noodles
  • Brown Rice Pasta. …
  • Shirataki Noodles. …
  • Chickpea Pasta. …
  • Quinoa Pasta. …
  • Soba Noodles. …
  • Multigrain Pasta.

It may be difficult to remember the entire list of processed foods that contain gluten. Learning which ingredients are dangerous to consume and how to spot them in food is preferable. This way, you can quickly determine whether a food is safe to eat by reading its label. When in doubt, it’s generally safe to eat whole foods like fruits, vegetables, proteins, nuts, beans, and dairy products.

According to The University of Chicago Celiac Disease Research Research Center, you may be sensitive to gluten if you experience headaches, nausea, bloating, diarrhea, or gas after consuming it. Wheat, rye, and barley are all grains that contain the protein called gluten. People with celiac disease or gluten intolerance react poorly to these grains or any ingredients made from them. Additionally, you should stay away from varieties of these grains known as triticale, spelt, einkorn, emmer, kamut, bulgur, farina, and semolina.

Typically, the gluten-containing grains can be found in everyday baked goods made with different types of wheat flour. Gluten can be found in regular breads, bagels, cookies, cakes, brownies, doughnuts, and muffins. However, many grocery and health food stores offer gluten-free versions of these products made from secure grains and starches, including brown rice, sorghum, amaranth, quinoa, corn, tapioca, and potato.

Regular pasta and noodles include different types of wheat flour, which contains gluten. Avoid egg noodles, soba, udon, macaroni, gnocchi, fusilli, linguine, penne, spaghetti, and fusilli unless the package specifically states that they are gluten-free. For making gluten-free pasta, rice, corn, and quinoa can be used in place of wheat. Asian dishes with white rice noodles, like pad thai, mai fun, or rice sticks, almost always contain no gluten.

Additionally, gluten can be found in a wide variety of prepared snacks and meals, including pretzels, crackers, chips, microwaveable dinners, seasoned nuts, candy, broth, processed meat, and soups. Reading the ingredient list will help you identify any gluten in processed foods. The U. S. Food and Drug Administration requires companies to label wheat. The food is dangerous if the word “wheat” appears in parentheses after an ingredient or if it is noted that it “Contains: Wheat” at the end of the list.

Foods that are less obvious but frequently contain hidden gluten are condiments and sauces. These gluten-containing ingredients work as thickeners, colorings or flavorings. Look for ingredients made from the forbidden grains on the food label of salad dressing, marinades, sauces, gravies, mayonnaise, and other condiments. They are also known as stabilizers, seasonings, hydrolyzed protein, malt flavoring, caramel coloring, modified food starch, and caramel coloring.

Avoid items that have been breaded when dining out because the breading contains gluten. It is best to stay away from fried foods because they may be cooked in the same oil as gluten-containing foods. Condiments served with items may contain gluten as well. Ask your server about the gluten-free options available. Meats that are grilled or baked, vegetables, and rice are typically safe choices when dining out. When in doubt, avoid consuming anything that might contain gluten. Even a small amount of gluten consumption can result in negative side effects.

The American College of Sports Medicine has registered dietitian and certified health/fitness specialist Erica Kannall. She has experience in food service, clinical nutrition, community health, fitness, health coaching, and counseling. She graduated from the University of Pittsburgh with a Bachelor of Science in clinical dietetics and nutrition.

Banza Chickpea Pasta (Pack of 6)

Zenb also has this effect. Made from yellow peas, its penne, elbows, and rotini maintain the look and feel of traditional pasta. I also really enjoy playing with konjac-based Miracle Noodles, which have a nice bounce to their bite. Many traditionally gluten-free Asian noodles, like soba and rice noodles (I like Thai Kitchen’s), also hold up well when given the fresh pesto and red sauce treatment.

Cappello’s Almond Flour Pasta (Pack of 4)

This is where gluten-free pastas are particularly tricky. Once they’re cold, many vegetable- and legume-based pastas get firm and rubbery. Enter rice-based pasta. Jovial’s brown rice pasta (I recommend the bow ties) and Tinkyada’s macaroni elbows are excellent choices. Once cooked, cooled, and tossed in olive oil, the texture remains gloriously pasta-like.

Shirataki, a type of Japanese konjac or devil’s tongue noodle, is also occasionally made with tofu. Although they can be consumed raw, the fishy smell and rubbery texture of the noodles make them less appealing to some people than when rinsed and boiled.

Pictured from left to right are: 1 buckwheat vermicelli (naeng myun), 2 shirataki, 3 kelp noodles, 4 sweet potato vermicelli (dang myun), 5 rice sticks, 6 soba, and 7 rice vermicelli.

• Kelp noodles – Korean noodles made from kelp (seaweed). These flavorless, clear, and crunchy noodles, which can be found in the refrigerator section, can be used either raw in salads or cooked in stir fries and soups.

• Sweet potato vermicelli (dang myun), a type of Korean noodle made from the starch of the country’s sweet potatoes Glassy and chewy, the noodles don’t have much flavor on their own but take on additional flavors when cooked in a soup or stir fry (like in Korean chap chae).

• Rice noodles: Made from rice flour, these tender noodles are popular throughout many East and Southeast Asian cultures. Vermicelli is a common name for thin rice noodles, while sticks, ribbons, and sheets may be used to describe thicker varieties.


Are there any noodles that are gluten-free?

For the uninitiated, there are two types of gluten-free pasta: those marketed as healthy alternatives to wheat-based pasta and made from ingredients like chickpeas and red lentils; and those made from ingredients like corn and rice flours that resemble wheat-based pasta.

Are egg noodles gluten?

Unfortunately, because they are made with flour, regular egg noodles contain gluten. Keep reading to learn about five more delicious gluten-free noodle options, so don’t be too disappointed!

Which Chinese noodles are gluten-free?

Although they are useful, not all gluten-free products have labels Shoppers should seek out goods with a gluten-free claim or a gluten-free third-party notification symbol, according to culinary nutritionist and specialist in special diets Rachel Begun, who spoke with INSIDER.

Related Posts